Forums » Elder Scrolls

Surprisingly fun play styles

• 7 posts
    August 15, 2013 12:49 AM EDT
    I'm not sure if anyone has already started a discussion like this but I figured I'd go ahead and throw my version of it out there.

I've probably played through Skyrim on the upper end of 20 times with more character builds and archetypes than you can shake a stick at and countless times getting a few hours in and scrapping the character all together.
    But a few days ago I stumbled upon an archetype by accident, really. I started playing as a typical run-at-the-mill Nord. You know, light armor, two handed, Braveheart war paint, so on and so forth. I just scratched the surface in play time. Up to the point where I'm l fetching the Dragonstone for Farengar.
    Well I kill the Bandit Marauder and pass the first puzzle and having played 300+ something hours, I know every nook and cranny in Skyrim and I known Im about to face 3 pesky Skeevers. As I get ready for my decent into the spiral staircase I decide that a two-handed great sword is not the tool for the job. So I grab my trust-dusty Iron shield and go to pair it with a one-handed ax. (Because what else would a Nord carry?) Huston, we have a problem; no ax. Fearing I would catch some god-awful disease, I decide to keep the shield and pair it with the only one-handed option I had; a spell.
    And that's when the light came on. I have finally found a play style I've never used before; a (defensive) Battlemage that uses a shield. Now, I know it doesn't sound particularly interesting so I had to do some trial and error to see if it was indeed as much fun for the length of the game as it was for roasting a few Skeevers.
    So I make an Imperial Battlemage, give him heavy armor, enchanted hood to boost Magicka, an Iron Shield, basic spells, and a Fire Staff. Much to my surprise, this play style is the most fun I've had with a character (with the exception of the first initial play through).