Forums » Elder Scrolls

New to Elder Scrolls, also some general/random questions...

• 5 posts
    December 8, 2011 8:27 AM EST

Hi, I'm Dan.

First, as said in the title, I am new to Elder Scrolls and have a couple of questions:

All this freedom of choice kind of made me feel like my very first character was gimped. Well, that feeling probably came because I started with the one-hand idea, then sort of changed mind to archery/sneak combo.

Well, my character went as far as level 14, but since I wasn't really enjoying her skill set/looks I decided to just start over since I didn't go too far anyway.

So now, I re-did the character, and wrote down that she was to use one handed, focus harder on sneak and the bow would be only for distraction purposes. Well, maybe is soon to tell but I am having a far more 'challenging' experience than my previous one which I'm not sure is right.

You see, my new character is lvl 11, with 51 sneak and 39 one hand (I had 1 spare perk point into light armor). And, while I'm new at Skyrim, I do play videogames for about 15 years so I could say I'm not exactly clueless. The problem is that dungeons are TOO easy until the boss, and last boss fight I had to start over almost 10 times cause that damned orc would 'cinematic' kill me if I took one wrong step (it was what I think to be boss of the Halted Stream Camp).

On my first character I can't really recall that fight being half as troublesome (though I understand that without the sneak advantage where my perks are allocated my character was pretty much perkless for that fight).

Anyway, while doing the climb to High Hrothgar this second time, wildlife seemed a lot tougher, which makes me wonder if NPCs scales and how would that work. Sneaking past a frosty sabre cat and then run into an ice troll was most definetely not fun.