Forums » Elder Scrolls

Skyrim on Nintendo Switch - My experience

• 56 posts
    October 15, 2018 1:12 PM EDT

Hey everybody,

I feel like sharing my experience with Skyrim on the Nintendo Switch. So Skyrim has been out on the Switch for a year almost. I'm pretty new to the device as I got the Switch and Skyrim only a week ago and my experiences so far have been really enjoyable. Prior to purchasing, I haven't played Skyrim at least for a year, so to me it feels like meeting an old friend and seeing them in a new light. Since 2011 I have been playing Skyrim on my crappy laptop. Over the years my laptop has gotten old and slower, the hardware has gotten dusty and it only runs at 25fps for maximum 15 minutes and then it drops to 18fps or even lower. So playing Skyrim on Switch in 720p 30fps is like the greatest thing ever. The Special Edition graphic changes on the Switch version also add to a new experience, it's looking fresher and at first glance you wouldn't notice the age of 6 years.

On PC I have only played the very first playthrough without mods and after that I have added more and more mods, mostly armor or interface mods. There are very little mods that I miss, the armor mods for example I don't miss at all but some interface mods, like the one that adds the Sun position and time to the HUD is one of them. Sometimes I ask myself why Bethesda didn't include this in the HUD with the SE.  

All in all, on the Switch I'm really able to savor the whole Skyrim experience once again as it runs really fluid both in handheld and docked mode. Being able to play Skyrim on the bus/train/anywhere was the main reason why I finally got a Switch and until now it's the only game I have. I still play Skyrim on the PC to test out builds (console cheats FTW) or just have some fun with mods.