Forums » General Gaming

I Just Started The Baldur's Gate Games

• 275 posts
    April 11, 2018 9:14 PM EDT

I must say, I'm enjoying it so far. I started a few days ago as an Elven Kensei with a quarterstaff. I currently have Khalid, what'sherface Druid (Khalid's wife), Neera, and Iomen. I enjoy the dialogue and story so far and I like the feeling of just trying to find your way in the world that's going on right now. I don't know what my end objective is or how anything I'm doing will help that, I'm just doing things as they come along, and I have the whole world in front of me. This is the way an RPG should be, I haven't felt this sense of freedom in an RPG in... ever, really. Elder Scrolls never gave me this feeling, nor Mass Effect and Dragon Age or any RPG before those.

Has anyone else tried these games? If so, what's your experience with it? Please try to avoid spoilers as I am still new to the game.

• 649 posts
    April 12, 2018 6:01 AM EDT

Baldur´s Gate. Ah, so many memories. It was basicaly the game that introduced me to proper true RPGs nearly two decades ago. I remember that I got my hands on the game(s) sometime around....2000-2001, back then it came in five CDs. FIVE! And you had to switch CDs when you travelled to a certain location - like Candlekeep was CD1 and Open Arms Inn was CD3 and Naskhel was CD2. It´s so hilarious when I think about that now. And yeah, me and my friends copied the CDs so that we could play the Multiplayer and in that time, when you wanted to play Multiplayer, you had to physically connect the computers. So every weekend me and my pals grabbed our PCs - imagine those large boxes along with old school monitors - and dragged them on a cart to our friend who´s parents were architects, so they had this huge house, and his room was just massive! And we played through the whole weekend. Baldur´s Gate and Icewind Dale later.