Forums » The Lounge

World Building General Thread

• 64 posts
    June 26, 2017 10:48 AM EDT

I think most of us Vault-dwellers are suckers for fantasy, lore, history and world-building. I have had several interesting discussions and reads throughout the Vault about people's ideas for fantasy-novel series, general world building tips and everything inbetween. So, I thought it was time to make Lounge discussion dedicated to World Building: a place to share epic plot ideas, minute details, fictional metafiction, character concepts, homespun-histories and much much more.

Now, I’ll be starting out with sharing a little of my personal “fantasy world” that I’ve been working on in my free time for over two years. It’s a world that came to be when I asked myself what would happen if I combined Mad-Max, The Black Company, Game of Thrones, Lord of The Rings and The Gentleman Bastards… not to forget elements of Warhammer lore and TES… a truly dystopian fantasy world.

I wanted something inhospitable and dead, where traveling is something only the hardest people dare venture, a place where magic is dying, alchemy is being weaponized and things are generally turning to shit. No heroes. I want to capture the “life is shit” feeling of a modern war-movie like Saving private Ryan and Band Of Brothers. Yea, I have over a thousand names listed on a document and a bunch of history sheets.

But for now I’ll be sharing a small part of the world-map I’ve been making via Pixelmator:

So yea, what are your ideas? What inspires you when it comes to world building? Do you have any ideas you’d want to share and discuss? I hope this thread will prove useful :D 

• 585 posts
    June 26, 2017 11:34 AM EDT

Crackin' idea Blue! I've dabbled in worldbuilding before, well, I've got some cool ideas in my head that I haven't written down, but I browse r/wordbuilding and r/magicbuilding all the time so I've got the general idea.