Forums » Fallout

Fallout 4 Tips

• 284 posts
    April 14, 2017 2:12 AM EDT

Hello everyone! :)

In a few days I will get to play Fallout 4 for the first time (late to the party, I know). I have a lot of experience from FO3 and New Vegas but I wanted to ask how should I play it for the first time. The classic way of just completing quests and levelling up as much as possible or should I play with a build?

• 277 posts
    April 14, 2017 3:17 AM EDT
    I recommed the classic way. Find what you like about the game and stick with it. And of course, post the character build you come up with. :D
    • 13 posts
    April 14, 2017 11:56 AM EDT
    I recommend running through it blind, and just do quests or do what comes naturally. Throw a few hours into getting to know the map and figuring out what's cool about the game vs what isn't, then restart and play a build that focuses on what you thought was cool. But definitely run through once and take what the game gives you for a while before getting specific.
    • 215 posts
    April 14, 2017 1:23 PM EDT

I'd agree with Chunk.  I started blind and then quickly got into building characters.  I just finally finished the main quest and it was tough with all my "baggage" from being through many parts of the game before and honestly it was hard to finish..lol.  So go with the flow the first time, enjoy the game.  Then you can get into building because you won't want to go all the way to 40 or 60 or (heaven forbid) 90+ after you've done it a dozen times already..lol.

• 215 posts
    April 14, 2017 1:25 PM EDT

But I will say, maybe look thru a few builds to have an idea of perks (probably similar to what you're used to in FO3 and NV but there are some changes.  So just decide melee, guns, rifles; auto or non-auto and that gets your basic perks down.

• 284 posts
    April 14, 2017 1:39 PM EDT