Forums » General Gaming

Magic the Gathering

• 22 posts
    June 19, 2012 10:25 AM EDT

Hey guys I've been playing magic for about 12 years now, more then half my life. But I was wondering if any of you guys play and what's your take on the game. I generally play casual with the group I play. We are very relaxed and we don't really care about restricted or banned cards. Unless it's EDH format because that stuff can get pretty out of hand. I did play type 2 for about half a year during the Zendikar block but nothing to serious because frankly I don't have the money because I'm not working right now and I'm still in high school. I prefer playing red, green, and blue decks. black and white IMO are just to boring but certain decks can be a lot of fun like re-animator decks .

I just want to get your guys' opinions on the game, what format you guys play. Basically I just want to talk about magic outside of my normal crowd!!!!

• 856 posts
    June 19, 2012 11:00 AM EDT

I used to play in tournaments, but that was many, many years ago - just a couple of years after the game came out.  I mainly played in double tournaments, and my partner and I came in first in every tourney we entered.  I quit playing at some point, but my partner continued playing - he went on to become state champ, a feat he repeated 3 times.

My most valuable card that I ever owned was a Mox Pearl - but I traded it for many cards including several dual lands, a mirror universe (whose value decreased after some rule changes), and many cards - I got about double in value for the mox.

I still have many of my cards, although most of the dual lands I sold at about 10 dollars each.  I plan on selling them all at some point, and I recently found a dealer.