Forums » Elder Scrolls

The Nature of Familiars

• 17 posts
    October 24, 2017 12:28 AM EDT

Hello everyone, I'm sorry if this is a repeated topic, but I'm a newbie and couldn't find any search tool to check if this issue has been discussed already.

Well, I have a question regarding the nature of familiars. I know that familiars can be banished by the "banish daedra" spell, but are they really daedra though? If not, what are they? Spirits of dead animals that live on Kyne's plane? Were they companions of heros from the past who inhabit Sovngarde? Or spirits that live on Hircine's plane of Oblivion (which would make them daedra)? 

I'm roleplaying as a Vigilant of Stendarr and I'v been using the Conjure Familiar spell often, but I've been questioning if that is consistent... it just doesn't seem clear what the hell familiars really are though. 

• 1595 posts
    October 24, 2017 2:56 AM EDT

Cool topic, Sarah :) The Conjuration school is most associated with the Daedra, but we know from Skyrim that Call of Valour is effected by perks in that skill - that is to say, it's a shout from the same well-spring as the Conjuration school. If we extrapolate that and think of the Warden class from ESO and their summoned bear, we could easily say that bear is a familar in both the traditional spiritual sense and in the context of the gamewold. A Warden might argue that said bear is from a Daedric Realm, instead asserting the creature is from Kyne's or Y'ffre's plane(t). That said, the bear could also be from Hircine's realm if you were playing a more chaotic character.