Forums » General Gaming

Bethesda No Longer Gives Out Free Review Copies - Your Thoughts?

• 277 posts
    October 31, 2016 9:47 AM EDT

Bethesda recently announced that they will no longer send early free copies of their new games to reviewers. What do you think of this? I'm just curious to know your opinion.

My thoughts are as follows. If I intend to buy a game on day one or even pre-order it, I have no interest in a review until after I've finished playing. My mind is already set so why bother with someone else's opinion? It doesn't matter to me how objective that opinion is. I remember reading and watching Skyrim's reviews a whole year after I started playing it. If however the game turns out to suck, I won't buy the next one from the same developer so soon. Instead I won't have any problem in waiting a couple weeks from the release date for reviews to pour in because I will no longer be too hyped about the game. 

This post was edited by Noodles at October 31, 2016 9:48 AM EDT
    • 288 posts
    October 31, 2016 10:03 AM EDT

I honestly couldn't care less.

• 312 posts
    October 31, 2016 10:21 AM EDT
    • 700 posts
    October 31, 2016 11:01 AM EDT

They might see a slight decrease in pre-order sales, but it's Bethesda. I can't imagine this will ever matter significantly. Ethically, it rings a bit hollow. 

"we want everyone, including those in the media, to experience our games at the same time"

This seems to imply that their games will always be worth experiencing. People shouldn't be punished for wanting to know how a game functions and generally holds up by being denied timely reviews. Bad reviews could hurt sales, but I genuinely wonder if that's a legitimate concern for Bethesda anymore.  

• 641 posts
    October 31, 2016 11:06 AM EDT